Skip to content

The Day the Internet Found Me

Every blogger out there fantasizes about this moment… when somehow the little blog you’ve been pouring yourself into suddenly gets noticed and explodes all over the internet – even if temporarily. Most of you are likely reading now because you saw my last post about my boyfriend’s recent accomplishment’s on the Freshly Pressed page of WordPress. I would like to share with you how this weekend went down…

We had a party Friday night with some close friends to celebrate all the goodness of the past week… hooray! Lots of bowling, laser tag and air hockey – as we are just giant 12 year olds around here. In the morning, as Andrew went off to work I stumbled sleepily to my desk to catch up on emails and the latest happenings of Facebook and as usual, visit the blog and see if maybe I’ve broken my record of 95 visits in a day. I’m staring at those status bars thinking to myself “hmmm that’s so weird, the one for yesterday is like disproportionately huge compared like ALL the past weeks.. what is wrong with this thing?” *refreshing page several times* Then I rollover the bar of epicness and the visit number 1,274 shows up…. whaaaaaaaa!

I then go into a fury of checking email and comments and likes and followers – whole crap! How has this happened?! Thank you WordPress for showing me how people found my blog! Freshly Pressed?! What! OMG *girly noises and dancing around the house in pj’s scaring the cats… this goes on for some time* And then I realized I have to wait ALL DAY to tell Andrew about this coolness and how tons of people are sharing in his achievement since I can’t call him at work. Baaah! So there I sat in the quietude of the morning with this thing that felt so big and expanding and connected that it was about to explode the room. And my favorite part of this was that it happened not because of something I did – but because of someone’s story that I shared… and that wonderfully interconnectedness of his story and mine and the whole journey that has meant to much to us.

By the end of the weekend our little post and the blog overall had over 10,000 visits (TEN THOUSAND!). That is a number of people so inconceivably huge-tastic to be connected to for even an iota of time that my only reaction was really just to laugh in lighthearted joy and utter amazement.

Now of course I realize this won’t last – and that probably everyone who’s even been on Freshly Pressed writes a blog entry just like this one afterwards… but do I care if I sound ridiculous? Nope. Unapologetically dramatic is how I roll. I really have no clue if anything like this will ever happen again and I’m just going to bask in it fully and outwardly – with all of you!

So THANK YOU to all of you wonderful shining people who took the time to visit, read and comment… to follow, reblog, and like. It has taken several days, but we’ve read each and every comment you left, and have gotten to see so many cool new blogs we would have never otherwise found! You made a special event in the lives of two people down in Texas even more incredible with all of your kindness! And to think, I almost didn’t post this because I thought it might be cheesy or no one would like it. Just goes to show that anytime we doubt ourselves we should really just take the chance and go for it… because you never know where it will go. =)

All my best!
*s

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. Tammy #

    As crazy as the 10k visits may be for you… I’m not HUGEly surprised! Since the moment we became friends, I’ve believed the greatness in you would effect others. Your connection with others feeds your creativity. Love you and congratulations on this one greatness that will concatenate many more measurable creative achievements.

    Tuesday, January 31, 2012
    • Thank you Tammy – you are too too sweet! Your words mean so much to me girl =) So glad to have you as a friend!

      Wednesday, February 1, 2012
  2. Congratulations to both of you! It’s wonderful to see this kind of reaction to such a good story. Thanks for sharing it with us. I’m glad to have found you and I’ll be following you. Good job!

    Tuesday, January 31, 2012
  3. Debra Lyn #

    everyone (well mostly everyone) LOVES to hear a real story about someone achieving a goal. It reinforces that fact that we all have that ability inside of us – you just need the belief. The drive and determination will naturally follow.
    10000 hits – AWESOME!!! ;-)

    Tuesday, January 31, 2012
  4. Mary Lou #

    Congrats!!!!!! Great for you both!! Keep it up..

    Tuesday, January 31, 2012
  5. A friend at work was Freshly Pressed on a Friday (so it was up all weekend) and had much the same experience. I had no idea he was blogging until he was Freshly Pressed!

    I think you writing about is just great – thanks!

    Nancy

    Tuesday, January 31, 2012
  6. Congratulations on your success! What a great surprise!

    Tuesday, January 31, 2012
  7. gecooper #

    I saw this post and said to myself..hey, I read and liked that article.Congratulations on watching those stat bars go through the roof!

    Tuesday, January 31, 2012
  8. I whole-heartedly agree with that last thought (“.. just take the chance and go for it..”). Here wishing you a ‘happy blogging year’ ahead :).

    Wednesday, February 1, 2012
  9. Thanks for sharing your update (and your joy) and for inspiring us all to keep on bloggin’!!

    Wednesday, February 1, 2012
  10. WOW! Congrats! Hey, congrats for having 95 visits a day in the first place, that’s pretty darn amazing (at least to a n00b like me) all by itself!

    Now, since you were kind to me and you know I’m just getting started, I’m going to ask a dumb question – what does Freshly Pressed mean? When I found your blog there, I thought that meant it was like, a recent post. Judging by your reaction…it’s not that?

    Thanks in advance! Now back to you. WAY TO GO! That’s inspiration if anything is, right? And it is sweet that it was “someone else’s story,” as you called it. Humbling yet something to be proud of! Congrats again!

    Wednesday, February 1, 2012
  11. I would be feeling the same way, nice to live vicariously! congrats! :)

    Wednesday, February 1, 2012
  12. SO SO HAPPY FOR YOU GUYS! I really enjoyed reading about your reaction, as I often wonder about the explosions of joy that must be springing up and the new connections rippling outward every time Freshly Pressed posts new featured blogs. Hurray! So glad you were discovered by so many. Thanks for inspiring us all!

    Saturday, February 4, 2012
    • Thank you thank you my friend for such an enthusiastic response… so love getting back that energy, it just makes the day bright! =) All my best to you!

      Friday, February 24, 2012
  13. Congratulations! Every blogger’s dream!

    Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Drop me a line!

Adventures in Order

A fairly organized wandering through life's chaos.

happy buddha breathing

Be real. Breathe deep. Live life.

12 Months of Creativity

Lessons on life as an artist

a wee bit warped

Art by Shelly Massey

L2ny's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Painted Life

Tahirh Goffic Fine Art

James Michael Sama

Keynote Speaker | Leadership Consultant | Life Coach

Loving Language

Learning languages and connecting with others.

James J Need

Writer & Mind Coach

Stitch Snap Sketch

crafting a pretty and handmade life

The Practical Art World

A guide for artists navigating the business side of the art world.

Cultivating "Happy"

My Journey Into Healthier, More Purposeful Living