Skip to content

The Story of Hands

lonelyhand_1

As a symbol, hands have begun to fascinate me lately. They have so much power to tell the deepest, most primal stories of our humanity. Fear, survival, love, belonging, safety, evolution, history, ability… there so many stories contained within this single element of our bodies.

These images were shot at the end of my last shoot with the calf’s heart, just experimenting and going wherever intuition takes me…

Screen Shot 2015-03-23 at 11.28.42 PM

Screen Shot 2015-03-23 at 11.34.07 PM

One Comment Post a comment
  1. SL #

    Beautiful, Sarah.

    I hope you don’t mind my relating, but I have had a similar connection with hands within the past few months. I had an image come to my mind that really isn’t translatable, but it had to do with the strength that comes from hands of love, how we can use our hands to strengthen, lift, and support one another, especially in times of desperation. I have pondered on it a great deal, and I have begun to wonder if the ways in which we use our hands speaks more of our character than anything else.

    I admire the way in which you have chosen to use your hands to create words and images that form a bridge of awareness to a realm of humanity that few have the courage to examine in depth. To me, that speaks of your courage…and compassion, because you have shared it.

    Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Drop me a line!

Adventures in Order

A fairly organized wandering through life's chaos.

happy buddha breathing

Be real. Breathe deep. Live life.

12 Months of Creativity

Lessons on life as an artist

a wee bit warped

Art by Shelly Massey

L2ny's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Painted Life

Tahirh Goffic Fine Art

James Michael Sama

Keynote Speaker | Leadership Consultant | Life Coach

Loving Language

Learning languages and connecting with others.

James J Need

Writer & Mind Coach

Stitch Snap Sketch

crafting a pretty and handmade life

The Practical Art World

A guide for artists navigating the business side of the art world.

Cultivating "Happy"

My Journey Into Healthier, More Purposeful Living